

2020 PRIMARY ELECTION



June 9, 2020



Going into the 2020 Elections – The Year of Change:

- Automatic Voter Registration began on January 1, 2020
- The implementation of Same Day Registration

Internal Department Goals

- Interactive Sample Ballot
- Adopt a Polling Place Program (AAPP)
- Wait time App
- Results Reporting Dashboard

COVID-19

All mail-in primary election announced



ELECTION STATISTICS REGISTERED VOTERS IS WASHOE COUNTY - 291,434



Democratic - 104,776



Republican – 103,989

☐ Minor Party/Nonpartisans – 82,669



ELECTION STATISTICS

2020 Primary Turnout by Party



Democratic - 40,676 (38.82%)



Republican – 40,036 (38.50%)

➤ Minor Party/Nonpartisans – 15,112 (18.28%)



Early Voting

- One Polling Location
- 19 Early Voting Workers
- 15 ICX Prime Voting Machines Used





Election Day

- One Polling Location
- 20 ICX Prime Voting Machines assigned
- Adopted by the Comptrollers
 Office





Comptrollers Office Staff:

Cathy Hill Lindarae Ohlson Vanessa Madera Martin Williams Doreen Teasley Pamela Matson Robert Andrews Sharolyn Willson



Mail In Ballot Processing

Number of Ballots Issued = 292,247 Number of Ballots Returned = 92,720







County Employees

POLL WORKER

Human Services

Darcy Chappel

VOTER CALL CENTER

Animal Services

Heidi Mittelstaedt-Nelson

ABSENT BALLOT TEAM

Clerk's Office

Roxana Miller

Beth Parrish

Kecia Olney

Jennifer McCauley

Jan Galassini

Recorder's Office

Kim Novotney

ICC BALLOT SCANNING

Technology Services

Vikki Lockhardt

Lorna Scholten

Recorder's Office

Hunter Halcomb

GIS WAIT TIMES AND

RESULTS DASHBOARD

Jay Johnson

Dale Casale

Gary Zaepfel

THANK YOU FOR VOLUNTEERING!



Special Thanks to Our Poll Workers

Early Voting Workers

Alicia Fernandez Patrisa Williams

Lulu Lewis

David Tapia

Pamela Hopkins

Jacqueline Calvert

Linda Hardie

Barbara Biggs

Marie Albee

Ana Dolar

Debbie Crossley

William Reckling

Allan Cruet

Terry Andrews

George Kurtz

Kathleen Starks

Marlene Hansen

Paul Weegar

Mary Gonzales

Voter Call Center

Debra Seiffert Saundra Goodman Karen Carmel

Mail-In Ballot Team,

Duplication Board and

Adjudication Board

Mary Richardson

Sara Britt

Candy & Bill Halbig

Joy Panella

Kellie Fox

William & Billie Garrow

Kathleen Downard

Sue Schroeder

Patsy Boyd

Karen & David Witherow

Christina Osloond



POST-ELECTION ACTIVITY

- Per NRS 293B.155 as required by NRS 293B.165, Post-LAT completed on Thursday, June 18, 2020 and was completed with no errors.
- Provisional Ballots have been processed and included in the final results
- Reconciliation completed with no unexplained errors
- Final abstract has been printed and vote history posted
- Post election audit completed, June 15th by the Accuracy Certification Board (ACB)
 - Current Certification Board Members are: Steve Davidek,
 Jean Stoess, Norm Schiff, and Dave Harbeck



VVPAT AUDIT

All of the ICX Prime Voting Tablets listed were audited by the Accuracy Certification Board (ACB) on Monday, June 15th. The VVPAT Audit (NAC 293.255) requires that at least 2% or 20 voting machine's paper audit trails be reviewed for accuracy (whichever is greater). Our ACB chose to audit 20 machines to review.

This is done by scanning the QR codes for each copy of the ballot cast. Those are totaled and compared to the print-out from the results flash drive. The ACB also reviews at least two sets of individual votes cast visually and compares that to the VVPAT to make certain the QR code for each ballot choices are being accurately reflected.

No errors were found.





STAFF INTRODUCTIONS – Team ROV

- > Heather Carmen Assistant Registrar of Voters
- ➤ Cate Salim Equipment Supply Manager/Polling Place Coordinator AND Absent Ballot Coordinator
- > Jon Brown Poll Worker Recruiter and Trainer
- ➤ Michael Chavez Front Office and Correspondence Manager
- ➤ Mike Mulreany Department Systems Specialist
- ➤ **Brian Takemoto** Technology Services (Responsible for everything)
- ▶ Dan Simpson Technology Services





FINAL THANK YOU TO:

- County Manager's Office for their continued support
- CommunicationsTeam
- Our Voters





Voter Registration and Elections Administration Thank You



Questions?