BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS WASHOE COUNTY, NEVADA

TUESDAY

<u>10:00 A.M.</u>

JANUARY 7, 2019

PRESENT:

<u>Marsha Berkbigler, Chair</u> <u>Bob Lucey, Commissioner</u> <u>Vaughn Hartung, Commissioner</u> <u>Jeanne Herman, Commissioner</u>

<u>Nancy Parent, County Clerk</u> <u>John Slaughter, County Manager</u> <u>Nathan Edwards, Assistant District Attorney</u>

ABSENT:

Kitty Jung, Vice Chair

The Washoe County Board of Commissioners convened at 10:00 a.m. in special session in the Commission Chambers of the Washoe County Administration Complex, 1001 East Ninth Street, Reno, Nevada. Following the singing of the National Anthem and the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag of our Country, the Clerk called the roll and the Board conducted the following business:

The Washoe County Sheriff's Office Honor Guard presented the colors.

County Manager John Slaughter announced Commissioner Jung was attending inauguration ceremonies in Carson City and would be sworn in later that day by the Honorable Peter Sferrazza.

19-0003 AGENDA ITEM 4 Public Comment.

Mr. Sam Dehne expressed sympathy for Kelly Cass and spoke about Pan American World Airways and the media.

19-0004 <u>AGENDA ITEM 5</u> Oath of office for newly elected officials by Chief Judge Patrick Flanagan.

Chief Judge Flanagan administered the oaths of office to the newly elected County Commissioners and County Officers as listed below:

> <u>Commission Districts</u> Robert (Bob) Lucey – Washoe County Commissioner, District 2 Kitty Jung – Washoe County Commissioner, District 3 Jeanne Herman – Washoe County Commissioner, District 5

JANUARY 7, 2019

SPECIAL MEETING

PAGE 1

Second Judicial District Court

Kathleen M. Drakulich Barry Breslow

Chief Judge Flanagan noted Ms. Dixie Grossman and Mr. Egan Walker were sworn in the prior Friday since they had court during this meeting.

Washoe County Offices

Michael E. Clark – County Assessor Nancy Parent – County Clerk Chris Hicks – District Attorney Don Cavallo – Public Administrator Kalie Work – County Recorder Darin Balaam – Sheriff Tammi Davis – Treasurer Hans R. Keller – Incline Village Constable

Justice Court

Terry Graham – Justice of the Peace, Gerlach/Wadsworth Alan Tiras – Justice of the Peace, Incline Village Derek Dreiling – Justice of the Peace, Reno/Verdi – Department 1 Chris Wilson – Justice of the Peace, Sparks – Department 1

General Improvement Districts

Palomino Valley General Improvement District

James Currivan – Trustee Greg Dennis – Trustee Larry Johnson – Trustee Donald Otto – Trustee

Sun Valley General Improvement District

Sandra Ainsworth – Trustee Susan Severt – Trustee

Verdi TV District

Bruce Comer

Chair Berkbigler congratulated the elected officials and said she hoped to spend time with them over the following two years. She announced the Board would take a recess for refreshments in the lobby.

<u>10:23 a.m.</u> The Board recessed.

<u>11:00 a.m.</u> The Board reconvened with Commissioner Jung absent.

SPECIAL MEETING

19-0005 AGENDA ITEM 6 Public Comment.

There was no response to the call for public comment.

* * * * * * * * * *

<u>11:00 a.m.</u> There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned without objection.

MARSHA BERKBIGLER, Chair Washoe County Commission

ATTEST:

NANCY PARENT, County Clerk and Clerk of the Board of County Commissioners

Minutes Prepared by: Derek Sonderfan, Deputy County Clerk